Giannis Antetokounmpo becomes 12th player to win consecutive MVP awards

Milwaukee Bucks star Giannis Antetokounmpo won his second straight Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award on Friday, becoming the 12th player in league history to secure the award in consecutive seasons.

Players to win back-to-back Kia MVPs
Player Consecutive MVPs Years Team
Bill Russell 3 1960-62 Boston Celtics
Wilt Chamberlain 3 1965-67 Philadelphia 76ers
Larry Bird 3 1983-85 Boston Celtics
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar 2 1970-71 Milwaukee Bucks
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar 2 1975-76 Los Angeles Lakers
Moses Malone 2 1981-82 Houston Rockets/ Philadelphia 76ers
Magic Johnson 2 1988-89 Los Angeles Lakers
Michael Jordan 2 1990-91 Chicago Bulls
Tim Duncan 2 2001-02 San Antonio Spurs
Steve Nash 2 2004-05 Phoenix Suns
LeBron James 2 2008-09 Cleveland Cavaliers
LeBron James 2 2011-12 Miami Heat
Stephen Curry 2 2014-15 Golden State Warriors
Giannis Antetokounmpo 2 2019-20 Milwaukee Bucks
Enjoy some of the best plays from the NBA’s 12 consecutive MVP winners.

Latest posts